End of Study Group

July 17, 2014 § 7 Comments

Due to a lack of interest it seems there is no longer an anarchist study group. If more people show interest it can certainly start back up in a new incarnation.

I enjoyed the study group immensely while it lasted. Thanks for being awesome!

-Zack

§ 7 Responses to End of Study Group

  • Roman Sanchez says:

    Hello,

    I’m very interested in this study group and sad to see it has disbanded! I have a little experience as an organizer and had begun thinking it could be nice to start a social justice book club before I found this! I’d definitely be interested in starting this back up and be willing to help organize/spread the word to others.

    Let me know.
    Thanks!,
    Roman Sanchez

  • alex rm. says:

    hey, just wanted to say that this is a wonderful resource & the archives will continue to be a source for my own reading in the future! thanks for keeping an online record w/ links to publications, i appreciate it

    best

    alex.

  • gjdoppermann says:

    Hey I would also like to see this group reinstated. The necessity for application of these ideas becomes more and more logical to me, but also it should be clear to even a more centrist mind that the study of alternate ways of living will have great benefit for him as well.

  • Andy says:

    I’d be very interested in starting this group back up again as well, I didn’t have a chance to take part before it disbanded but I’m certainly interested. As much as there is to be gained from reading and study and personal practice, it seems the most important aspect of anarchism is communal action, let’s get together and start working on something.

  • Roman Sanchez says:

    Andy,
    I agree! Maybe we should just get the ball rolling and encourage this group’s reincarnation? I’m not sure I could do every week, but I’d be at least interested in a once-a-month study group. Any book suggestions? I wonder if we could meet at a place like Monkeywrench Books?
    Let me know!

  • Zack says:

    Hello! It appears that there is plenty of interest to restart the study group. We previously held it at Monkey Wrench Books which worked out great while we were there. I’m thinking we should do once a month meetings since that may be easier for people with busy schedules. I’ll try to get a hold of someone from Monkey Wrench tomorrow and we can take it from there.

    I recommend reading an intro to anarchism type thing for the first meeting. Even if you’re not new to this stuff I think it is fun to read stuff like that from time to time. Bob Black’s Anarchy 101 is pretty great – http://theanarchistlibrary.org/library/bob-black-anarchy-101

  • gjdoppermann says:

    Thrilled to see this group meeting once again I did not get a chance to attend the previous group. When do we think the next meeting will be? Thanks look forward to meeting the community!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading End of Study Group at Austin Anarchist Study Group.

meta